9 Oct 7 Dec 2008

FUTUROTEXTILES 08

Exhibition

Courtrai - Kortrijk (B)

Share :

Following the successful Futurotextiles 06 exhibition in Lille, the old NMBS railway hangar in Kortrijk (Magdalenastraat) is now to be the venue for FUTUROTEXTIEL 08 - organised by Designregio Kortrijk and lille3000, from 9 October through 7 December 2008.

Both national and international visitors will once again be introduced to an updated selection of extreme and innovative solutions in the textile sector, shunning the idea of traditional textile factories in favour of today’s modern enterprises.

Companies from the Kortrijk-Lille region, as well as from all over Europe, will exhibit a wide range of products illustrating the innovative, creative and surprising approach typical of the modern textile industry. FUTUROTEXTIEL 08 not only aims to amaze, it also wants to make visitors aware of the importance of research and development within the textile industry.

To this end, the exhibition is divided into three major sections: an educational section, a section featuring new technology solutions, and a creative section. In addition, a lounge will be set up in the exhibition space. It is to serve as a meeting place for companies and schools, but it will equally be a unique venue for conferences, soirées and parties.

The educational space introduces the public to the basic principles of textile technology. The various primary textile processes are simply and vividly described and demonstrated to the visitors, showing, for instance, how fabrics are made from basalt and beetroot.

The second section of the exhibition focuses on high-tech textile solutions in the building industry, health sector, biotechnology, sports, architecture, design, transportation and even in space travel. Special attention will also be paid to flax.

Textiles and the innovative technological applications thereof are ideal raw materials for artists. This will be the main theme of the third section of Futurotextiel 08.

Moreover, from 2009, a part of this exhibition will embark on a world tour under the auspices of the CulturesFrance network.

Curator: Caroline David
Artistic Coordinator: Isabelle De Jagere
Project Coordinator: Marie De Clerck
Scenography: Studio Arne Quinze

9 oct 7 déc 2008

FUTUROTEXTILES 08

Exposition

Courtrai - Kortrijk (B)

Partager :

Après Futurotextiles en 2006 au Tripostal, conçue et produite par lille3000, après sa présentation à Istanbul à l’occasion de la Design Week en septembre 2007, Designregio Kortrijk et lille3000 présentent FUTUROTEXTIEL 08 du 9 octobre au 7 décembre 2008 dans une ancienne halle de la SNCB à Courtrai.

Fruit d’une coopération transfrontalière, FUTUROTEXTIEL 08 présente, en étroite collaboration avec les entreprises de la filière, les différents pôles d’excellence et les écoles techniques supérieures, les textiles techniques les plus innovants et les plus insolites oeuvres d’art contemporain, design architecture…

On y voit principalement des applications textiles de la région Courtrai-Lille, mais également d’autres pays, qui montrent à travers leurs produits la créativité et l’innovation qui règnent dans le secteur du textile actuel. L’exposition sensibilise les visiteurs à l’importance des recherches et développements dans l’industrie textile.

FUTUROTEXTIEL 08 associe trois grands secteurs : les éléments pédagogiques, les textiles techniques et la création artistique contemporaine. Un lounge complète l’exposition et sert de lieu de rencontres pour les entreprises ou les écoles, pour des conférences, soirées et autres événements.

L’espace pédagogique permet au public de mieux appréhender l’univers du textile. On y découvre par exemple que l’on peut fabriquer des étoffes à partir d’un caillou basalte ou d’une betterave.

L’exposition montre également des applications textiles de haute technologie, dans les domaines de la protection, la construction, la santé, la biotechnologie, du sport, de l’architecture, du design, du transport et même de la navigation spatiale. Le lin, fibre traditionnelle régionale, y occupe une place particulière dans ses déclinaisons les plus innovantes.

Les textiles innovants sont des matériaux de choix pour les artistes (plasticiens, designers, stylistes) qui les intègrent dans leurs créations les plus récentes. C’est à cet aspect qu’est consacré le troisième secteur de l’exposition.

Et dès 2009, le Textimodule, module itinérant reprenant une partie de cette exposition, entamera une tournée mondiale en lien avec le réseau CulturesFrance.?

Commissariat général : Caroline David
Coordination : Isabelle De Jagere
Direction générale : Marie De Clerck
Scénographie : Studio Arne Quinze